Speakers 2019 Symposium

Rear Admiral James Goldrick (RAN ret)

James Goldrick held several seagoing commands with the Royal Australian navy and later led the Australian Border Protection Command and Defence Force Academy. He is the winner of the 2018 U.S. Navy CNO Naval History Essay Contest and the author of Before Jutland (USNIP 2015) and After Jutland (USNIP 2018). He resides in Canberra

Michael Whitby

Michael Whitby is the Senior Naval Historian for the Canadian Department of National Defence. Whitby is a principal author of the official histories of the Second World War, A Blue Water Navy, and No Higher Purpose and has edited or written many other works. Whitby resides in Carlton Place, Ontario.

Dr. Sam Tangredi​Mercy Mei Tangredi

Sam Tangredi is director of the Center for Future Warfare Studies and author of Anti-Access Warfare (USNIP 2013). He is an event organizer and a founding member of the WNHA. Mercy Mei Tangredi has the distinction of being the youngest author ever published in Naval History magazine

Vincent P. O'Hara

O'Hara is the author, co-author or editor of a dozen works including (with Len Heinz) Clash of Fleets (USNIP 2018).  He was the Naval Institute Press author of the year in 2015 for Torch: North Africa and the Allied Path to Victory. O'Hara is an event organizer and a founding member of the Western Naval Historical Association. 

David Kohnen

Kohnan is the Director of the John B. Hattendorf Center for Maritime Historical Research at the U.S. Naval War College. He is the author of 21st Century Knox: Influence, Sea Power, and History for the Modern Era (USNIP 2016). A King's Navy: The Fifty Years War for Command at Sea and the U.S. Navy 1897-1947 is forthcoming. Kohnen received his Ph.D from King's College, London. 

Trent Hone

Trent Hone is the author of Learning War (USNIP 2018) and an expert on U.S. Navy doctrine. His articles have won the U.S. Naval War College’s Edward S. Miller Prize and the Naval History and Heritage Command’s Ernest M. Eller Prize. His essay on Guadalcanal earned 2nd place in the 2017 USN CNO Naval History Essay Contest. Hone resides in the DC area. 

Stephen McLaughlin

McLaughlin is a long time contributor to the annual Warship and the author of Russian and Soviet Battleships (USNIP 2003) He is well known as the leading American expert in early 20th century Russian naval history. McLaughlin 'is an event organizer and a founding member of the Western Naval Historical Association. He resides in Richmond, Calif.

Dr. Bernard Cole (Capt USN ret)

Bernard Cole is a leading expert on China and the 2014 Naval Institute Press author of the year for Great Wall at Sea, China's Quest for Great Power.  Cole was a surface warfare officer, ultimately commanding DesDiv 35 and currently teaches at the National War College. He resides in the DC area

Dr. Cynthia Watson

Dr. Watson is currently the Dean of Faculty and Academic Programs at the National War College.  Her work U.S. National Security received CHOICE's designation as a Book of the Year. She is the author of other works including Military Education, and U.S. Military Service. 

Watson resides in the DC area. 

Craig Symonds

Craig Symonds is currently the Ernest J. King Professor of Maritime History at the US Naval War College. His major awards include the Gilder Lehman  Lincoln Prize (2009) and the Samuel. E. Morison Award for Naval Literature (2015). His most recent work is World War II at Sea: A Global History (2018)